GTP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

GTP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • GTP is Global Travel Professional, issued by the GBTA Academy and administered through Professional Testing Corporation.
  • The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, 100 scored plus 25 unscored pretest items, in three hours.
  • Travel Program Administration carries 34% of the blueprint, more than any other domain.
  • Fees are USD 350 for GBTA members and USD 450 for non-members; certification lasts three years.

Which GTP This Sheet Covers

Several unrelated credentials share the acronym. This page covers only the Global Travel Professional certification from the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA) Academy, aimed at people who buy, sell, manage or support business travel. If you want the plain-language background first, see What Is GTP Certification? or What Does GTP Stand For?. Everything below is built around this single credential.

The Exam at a Glance

ItemWhat to Remember
CredentialGlobal Travel Professional (GTP)
Governing bodyGBTA Academy
Test administrationProfessional Testing Corporation (PTC)
DeliveryPrometric testing centers or live remote proctoring via ProProctor
Questions125 total: 100 scored, 25 unscored pretest
TimeThree hours
FormatEnglish, computer-delivered multiple choice, one correct answer among four
Books and notesClosed book
Passing standardGBTA-approved, criterion-referenced; no public numerical cut score verified
ValidityThree years, expiring in June or December

Two details trip people up. First, the 25 unscored pretest items are mixed in with the scored ones and are not labeled, so treat every question as if it counts. Second, remote check-in and the described section break are separate from the three-hour examination clock, so do not budget your pacing around them.

Fees, Windows and Deadlines

The exam fee is USD 350 for GBTA members and USD 450 for non-members. Preparation materials are purchased separately, and membership is not required to sit the exam. For a fuller cost picture including prep and renewal, read the GTP certification cost breakdown.

The two 2026 testing windows:

WindowDatesApplication Deadline
SpringApril 25 to May 23April 2
FallOctober 3 to November 7September 2
Deadline logic: The application deadline falls weeks before each window opens, and GBTA supplies the study guide only after your application is approved. If you are counting on that guide, apply early enough that approval, scheduling and study time all fit. The GTP exam dates guide covers scheduling in more detail.

Eligibility in One Look

  • Required: documented experience of at least three years buying or selling business travel services.
  • Not required: GBTA membership and preparatory courses.
  • Not specified in the eligibility section reviewed: a degree requirement, a required total of training hours, or a referee count. Check the current Candidate Handbook before assuming any of these apply.

Because the experience must be documented, gather employment details (employers, titles, dates, and a description of your travel-related duties) before you open the application. The GTP requirements guide walks through qualification questions.

The Four Weighted Domains

The formal GTP Content Outline defines four examination domains that total 100%. Note that the formal outline calls Domain 2 "Buyer/Supplier Engagement," so use that wording when searching the outline.

DomainWeight
1. Strategic Business Planning23%
2. Buyer/Supplier Engagement22%
3. Travel Program Administration34%
4. Data/Analytics/Finance21%
Outline dating caveat: The outline's cover reads "Updated April 2022," its running headers say 2023, and its filename says 2024. Treat it as the formal scope source, but confirm against the current handbook and GBTA program page before finalizing your plan. The complete guide to all four GTP content areas goes deeper on each domain.

Must-Know Topics by Domain

The outline itself is the authority on exact task statements. The framing below shows what each domain is about so you know where to read closely.

Domain 3: Travel Program Administration (34%)

The heaviest domain and the one closest to daily operations. Expect questions about running a managed travel program rather than designing one.

  • Policy: how travel policy is written, communicated and enforced
  • Booking and servicing channels, and how traveler experience is managed
  • Duty of care and traveler risk responsibilities
  • Expense and reporting processes that tie into the program
  • Stakeholder coordination between travelers, travel managers and internal departments

Domain 1: Strategic Business Planning (23%)

This domain looks at how travel fits into organizational goals and how a program is shaped.

  • Aligning a travel program with business objectives
  • Program scope, goals and long-range planning
  • Sourcing strategy and how requirements are defined
  • Making the business case for program decisions

Domain 2: Buyer/Supplier Engagement (22%)

The relationship and negotiation layer between travel buyers and the airlines, hotels, agencies and other suppliers they work with.

  • Supplier selection and the request-for-proposal process
  • Contract and negotiation fundamentals from both sides of the table
  • Ongoing supplier management and performance review
  • Understanding how sellers approach corporate accounts

Domain 4: Data/Analytics/Finance (21%)

Reading numbers well enough to manage and defend a program.

  • Travel spend data: what to collect and how to interpret it
  • Savings, cost avoidance and measuring program performance
  • Budgeting and financial reporting concepts
  • Using analytics to inform policy and supplier decisions

Because the exam draws on both the buy side and the sell side, candidates from a single background often have one domain that feels unfamiliar. A corporate travel manager may be rusty on how suppliers structure deals; a supplier-side sales professional may be thin on policy administration. Identify that gap early. The GTP study guide shows how to build a plan around it.

How the Questions Behave

  • Single best answer: four options, one correct. Distractors tend to be plausible practices that are wrong for the specific scenario.
  • Scenario framing: expect situations a travel buyer, seller or program manager would recognize, where the task is choosing the most appropriate action.
  • No external aids: closed book, and no verified calculator or adaptive-testing rule is documented, so prepare to reason through any numbers by hand and expect a fixed set of questions.
  • Pacing: three hours for 125 items is roughly a minute and a half per question on average. That is generous enough to read carefully, so use the margin on scenario questions rather than rushing them.

Key Takeaway

Since 25 of the 125 questions do not count, never spend your time guessing which ones those are. Answer every item on its merits and flag-and-return only when a question genuinely needs a second look.

What Is and Is Not Published About Scoring

The pass standard is set by GBTA and is criterion-referenced, meaning candidates are measured against a defined competency standard rather than against each other. No public numerical cut score has been verified, so be skeptical of any site quoting an exact required percentage. For the full picture, see the GTP passing score guide and the GTP pass rate analysis. If your concern is difficulty rather than scoring, How Hard Is the GTP Exam? addresses it directly.

Renewal Rules You Should Know Before You Sit

Certification lasts three years, and expiry falls in either June or December. You have two renewal routes:

  1. Recertification credits: earn 50 credits and pay the renewal fee of USD 200 for members or USD 250 for non-members.
  2. Re-examination: pass the exam again before expiry.

This matters at the start of your journey because credits accumulate over time. Keep records of qualifying professional development from the day you certify rather than scrambling in year three.

Scheduling the Domains

Here is one way to sequence preparation around the blueprint weights, assuming an eight-week runway to your window. Adjust it based on your own background.

Weeks 1-2

Travel Program Administration

  • Start with the 34% domain so it gets the most repetition
  • Build a one-page summary of policy, servicing and duty-of-care concepts
Week 3

Strategic Business Planning

  • Link program goals to sourcing and scope decisions
Week 4

Buyer/Supplier Engagement

  • Review negotiation and supplier management from both perspectives
Week 5

Data/Analytics/Finance

  • Practice interpreting spend and savings scenarios without a calculator
Weeks 6-8

Mixed practice and weak spots

  • Take the optional 50-question practice test and review every miss by domain
  • Run timed mixed sets from the GTP practice test

The official optional practice test has 50 questions, costs USD 75, and permits two accesses, so hold it for after you have covered all four domains rather than using it as a cold diagnostic. For a broader library of questions, the GTP Exam Prep practice questions let you drill by domain.

Where the Credential Is Used

GTP is relevant to people on both sides of the business travel market: corporate travel managers and program administrators, travel management company staff, and supplier-side professionals such as those working in hotel, airline or other travel sales. Employers value it as evidence of structured knowledge across program management, supplier relations and travel finance. Specific hiring claims vary by company, so read current listings rather than relying on generalizations; the GTP jobs overview and GTP salary guide cover role and earnings context, and Is the GTP Certification Worth It? weighs the return.

Quick Answers (FAQ)

How many questions are on the GTP exam?

There are 125 multiple-choice questions: 100 scored and 25 unscored pretest items, completed in three hours. You cannot tell which are unscored, so answer all with equal care.

Which domain is weighted most heavily?

Travel Program Administration, at 34%. The others are Strategic Business Planning at 23%, Buyer/Supplier Engagement at 22%, and Data/Analytics/Finance at 21%.

Do I need GBTA membership to take the exam?

No. Membership and preparatory courses are not mandatory. Members do pay less: USD 350 versus USD 450 for non-members.

What experience do I need to qualify?

You must document at least three years of experience buying or selling business travel services. The eligibility section reviewed does not specify a degree, training-hour total or referee count.

How long does the certification last and how do I renew?

It lasts three years. Renew by earning 50 recertification credits and paying USD 200 (members) or USD 250 (non-members), or by passing the exam again before expiry.

This cheat sheet condenses the essentials, but the official GBTA program page and the current Candidate Handbook are the final word on fees, windows and rules, so confirm them before you apply. For more background, start with the main GTP certification overview.

Ready to pass your GTP exam?

Put this into practice with free GTP questions across every exam domain.